Q: How much marijuana is in a pound?
A: A pound is 16 ounces, or 453.592 grams.
Q: How much marijuana can I purchase?
A: A customer cannot purchase more than the following amounts at any one time or within one day: One ounce of usable marijuana if a recreational consumer; Eight ounces of useable marijuana at any one time or within one day, and no more than 32 ounces in one calendar month if an OMMP registry identification cardholder or designated caregiver; 16 ounces of a cannabinoid product in solid form; 72 ounces of a cannabinoid product in liquid form; Five grams of cannabinoid extracts or concentrates, whether sold alone or contained in an inhalant delivery system; Four immature marijuana plants; and Ten marijuana seeds.
Q: I’m a registered OMMP patient, but I’m 18 years old. Can I buy medical marijuana from an OLCC retailer?
A: OLCC retailers selling marijuana for medical purposes can sell medical marijuana to OMMP patients 18 years of age or older.
Q: What’s medical grade marijuana?
A: Medical grade means marijuana items that have a higher THC concentration limit compared to items sold to recreational customers. For example a recreational customer can buy a package of edibles that contains up to 50 mg of THC and each serving size in that package can be up to 5mg of THC. A medical grade edible sold to an OMMP registered patient can contain up to 100 mg of THC per package and there is no maximum serving size for medical grade edibles.
Q: What is the purpose of legalizing recreational marijuana?
A: As stated in Measure 91, the purpose of the Act is to:Eliminate the problems caused by the prohibition and uncontrolled manufacture, delivery, and possession of marijuana within this state; Protect the safety, welfare, health, and peace of the people of this state by prioritizing the state’s limited law enforcement resources in the most effective, consistent, and rational way; Permit persons licensed, controlled, regulated, and taxed by this state to legally manufacture and sell marijuana to persons 21 years of age and older, subject to the provisions of this Act; Ensure that the State Department of Agriculture issues industrial hemp licenses and agricultural hemp seed production permits in accordance with existing state law; Establish a comprehensive regulatory framework concerning marijuana under existing state law.
Q: What did Measure 91 do?
A: Measure 91 allows Oregonians to grow limited amounts of marijuana on their property and to possess personal limited amounts of recreational marijuana for personal use beginning July 1, 2015 under Oregon law. The measure also gives OLCC authority license and regulate recreational marijuana grown, sold, or processed for commercial purposes. The OLCC does notregulate the home grow/personal possession provisions of the law.
Q: When did Measure 91 go into effect?
A. The home grow/personal possession provisions of the measure started on July 1, 2015. OLCC began issuing commercial licenses in spring of 2016.
Q: Who will implement the initiative?
A: The initiative designates the Oregon Liquor Control Commission as the state agency that will regulate the commercial growing and selling of recreational marijuana. It also gives the OLCC authority to license and regulate commercial recreational marijuana operations. The OLCC has no authority to regulate or enforce the home grow/personal possession provisions of the law.
Q: Has Measure 91 been changed from what voters approved?
A: Yes. Both the 2015 and 2016 sessions of the Oregon Legislature made technical changes to Measure 91, that can be found in ORS 475B The Legislature also changed the way recreational marijuana is taxed. Instead of the OLCC imposing the tax at the grower level, it will now be imposed at the retail level and collected by the Department of Revenue.
Q: How do I know if a retail store is licensed by the OLCC?
A: The OLCC keeps an updated list of all licensed retail stores on their website, they also have a map so you can easily find locations around the state.
Q: Will the OLCC distribute marijuana out of a central warehouse?
A: No. Marijuana will be distributed by those who hold an OLCC recreational marijuana license.
Q: Will there be a quota for how many retail outlets will be allowed?
A: There is no quota for the number of retail licenses we will be issuing at this time.